Governance of District Police, Kollam Rural

Kollam Rural Police comes within the Jurisdiction of Thiruvananthapuram Police Range which comes under Southern Police Zone.

The force headed by a Superintendent of Police of IPS cadre designated as District Police Chief, comprises of Deputy Superintendent of Polices, Inspectors of Police, Woman Inspector of Police, Sub Inspectors of Police, Woman Sub Inspectors of Police, Additional and Assistant Sub Inspectors, Senior Civil Police Officers, Woman Senior Civil Police Officers, Civil Police Officers and Woman Civil Police Officers numbering around 815 and an average number of 33663 cases are being handled per annum. In addition to this strength, there are about 65 numbers of ministerial staff to help the officers in various aspects of service, other petition matters and better policing to the public.

The Police District is sub divided into two Sub Divisions, nine Circles and seventeen Police Stations each headed by the officer of the rank of Deputy Superintendent of Police, Circle Inspector of Police designated as Inspector of Police and Sub Inspector of Police respectively. In addition to that a Women Cell headed by a Woman Inspector of Police and one Traffic Unit are also functioning in this unit. Special Units like District Special Branch, District Crime Records Bureau, Districts Crime Branch, and each is headed by one officer of the rank of Deputy Superintendent of Police and Cyber Cell under the supervision of District Police Chief are also help to maintain the law and order, prevention of crimes and investigation of crimes and maintenance of public tranquility in the police district.

Sanctioned Strength Details