History of Kollam Rural Police

Kollam Rural Police District was formed as per the Government Order no 32/2011/Home dated 05.02.2011 and came into force on 28th February 2011. This Police District was formed by bifurcating Kollam District into Kollam City Police and Kollam Rural Police. Kollam Rural Police office was inaugurated on 28th February 2011 by the then Hon’ble Minister for Home, Vigilance and Tourism, Shri. Kodiyery Balakrishnan. In that occasion many dignitaries including MPs, MLAs and higher Police Officials were participated. At first the office was started function in a rented private building by the side of Puthoor Road Kottarakkara. On 11.10.2013 it has shifted to the PWD Building situated at TB Junction Kottarakkara, formerly the court complex, Kottarakkara was functioning. The foundation stone for a new building for District Police Office was laid at the plot allotted to Police department at Thrikkannamangal on .The foundation stone was laid by the then Honorable Minster for Home &Vigilance Shri. Ramesh Chennithala in the presence of MPs, MLAs and other dignitaries including the then District Police Chief. Shri. S.Sasikumar IPS.

Kollam Rural DPO Building at Kottarakkara

The Police District is sub divided into two Sub Divisions, nine Circles and seventeen Police Stations each headed by the officer of the rank of Deputy Superintendent of Police, Circle Inspector of Police designated as Inspector of Police and Sub Inspector of Police respectively. In addition to that a Women Cell headed by a Woman Inspector of Police and one Traffic Unit are also functioning in this unit. Special Units like District Special Branch, District Crime Records Bureau, Districts Crime Branch, and each is headed by one officer of the rank of Deputy Superintendent of Police and Cyber Cell under the supervision of District Police Chief are also help to maintain the law and order, prevention of crimes and investigation of crimes and maintenance of public tranquility in the police district.